People Love You More Than You Think

Well, as you may already know, I mentioned that I am transitioning from military to civilian life, and if you read my other post, you would know that I am having a difficult time finding what it is that I am good at and putting it on paper (resume). So, I thought I would reach out to the source, my customers. I wanted them to tell me what to talk about because they would not be shy on what my skills, strengths and weaknesses are.

I asked a few individuals who are much higher up in the chain of command to please help. To my surprise, they were so overwhelmingly supportive, almost glad I asked them to help. I didn’t think that I would find anyone! This helped me realize that most times we tend to cut ourselves short, we tend to underestimate our skills and strengths and over criticize and emphasize on our weaknesses. These people to whom I expressed my concerns of finding employment to looked me firmly in the eye, and all said, “You will do great, you have nothing to worry about, you will find a job and it will all work out”. quote

I felt a sense of calm come over me, I am not saying everything will be peachy simply because they said it, but to think that someone who I barely know has that much confidence in me because they think I am that strong, smart, and hardworking made my heart grow a little bit. I wanted to hug them and simply say “Thank you”, which I did (minus the hugging). This brought on the sudden urge to re-write my resume! I did. Now, it is now some all mighty resume that will get me every single job I apply for (I wish such a thing existed though), but it is a much better representation of who I am. It is still a work in progress, and to answer a question I asked in a previous post, (Can people truly get a sense of who I am from a piece of paper?!), the answer is yes, if you look deep within yourself and listen to those around you for advice, you will come to find that you too are amazing, and people love you way more than you think.

Leave a Reply

