Is there anyone left?

 

I sit here today and wonder if there is anyone left who truly embraces what it is to love and to be kind to others. I previously wrote a post titled, “We Shall NOT Oppress a Stranger” when I wanted readers to put a real face to immigration, sadly much has happened since then and it seems that the only face people can tie to immigrants is that of a rapist or a murderer thanks to the oh so eloquent Donald Trump.  Of course, he isn’t really the problem, and that is really what infuriates me, no….it hurts. It hurts that people I actually know would support such an openly racist man and believe that his word is truth. Are we that screwed up America? So much so that you would support someone who wishes to label people by the color of their skin, their religion, or their immigration status?voltaire

Everyone raises up in arms when we criticize the man and his propositions, but god forbid someone stands up for the victims, the oppressed, the poor, the black, the brown, the muslims, the ones who are not rich or white.  In the Navy we live by our values of Honor, Courage, and Commitment; but who are we honoring if not the idea that all men are created equal? What courage do we really have if we can’t stand up to evil men as a nation? What possible commitment can we have to a country of citizens who are so easily persuaded to hate? Its not about politics anymore, its not about making American great again, it is about going back to our values, the values which made America great to begin with.  So, once again, I ask that you put a face to immigration, a face to the poor, I assure you that all you need to do is look around you to find someone deeply affected by the hate we continue to breed. Put an end to it, before it is too late.  Many people tell me I take this personal, too personal, but they don’t know how I got here.  I assure you that if they knew, they would have a bigger sense of what immigration and oppression really means. Open your hearts America, so in the future, the question of whether or not there is anyone left with the sense of the words love and kindness will be irrelevant. 

One thought on “Is there anyone left?

  1. Reminds me of a shipmate who pointed out some time back the words of our creed: “I am committed to excellence and the fair treatment of ALL.” Not all Americans, not all whites–just all people.

    I too am astounded by what’s going on in our country today. I think much of it is misplaced resentment. I think some of it is simply ignorance–after all, if your time in the Navy has been anything like mine, you’ve traveled and met people from way, way more diverse ethnic, financial, national, etc. backgrounds than the typical Trump supporter has. It’s easier to treat people and talk about people like they are not in fact people when you have never met someone in their demographic before.

    Anyway, I feel what you’re saying. Don’t lose hope though. I think there are more people who know Trump is wrong than think he is right. Those people just have not been unified yet. And perhaps they are not as obnoxiously vocal about their opinions… perhaps what we need is for them to get more vocal! I don’t know, but I still have hope we will not actually elect that man as our leader.

    Like

Leave a Reply

